Laboratoire Eau Environnement et Systèmes Urbains (Leesu)

Recent publications

--> Url version détaillée , Url version formatée Structure name contains or id is : "409065;155441;135971;102266;212248;578082", Publication type : "('ART')"
922.
titre
Monitoring microplastics in the Seine River in the Greater Paris area
auteur
Cleo Stratmann, Rachid Dris, Johnny Gasperi, Frans Buschman, Adriaan Markus, Sabrina Guerin, A. Dick Vethaak, Bruno Tassin
article
, 2024, 12, ⟨10.3389/feart.2024.1386547⟩
titre
Litter in French urban areas — Part 2: transport dynamic and fluxes in stormwater
auteur
Lauriane Ledieu, Romain Tramoy, David Mabilais, Sophie Ricordel, Marie-Laure Mosini, Alexandra Mosset, Bernard Flahaut, Laetitia Pineau, Zoé Bridant, Eric Bouchet, Clémence Bruttin, Fabrice Rodriguez, Bruno Tassin, Johnny Gasperi
article
, 2024, ⟨10.1007/s11356-024-33774-0⟩
titre
Fluorescence spectroscopy for tracking microbiological contamination in urban waterbodies
auteur
Natália Angelotti de Ponte Rodrigues, Rémi Carmigniani, Arthur Guillot-Le Goff, Françoise S Lucas, Claire Therial, Manel Naloufi, Aurélie Janne, Francesco Piccioni, Mohamed Saad, Philippe Dubois, Brigitte Vinçon-Leite
article
, 2024, 6, ⟨10.3389/frwa.2024.1358483⟩
titre
Séparation à la source des excrétats : bases pour des règles professionnelles
auteur
Florent Brun, Fabien Esculier, Bernard de Gouvello
article
, 2024, GE1029v1, ⟨10.51257/a-v1-ge1029⟩
titre
Small-Size Microplastics in Urban Stormwater Runoff are Efficiently Trapped in a Bioretention Cell
auteur
Kelsey Smyth, Shuyao Tan, Tim van Seters, Johnny Gasperi, Rachid Dris, Jennifer Drake, Elodie Passeport
article
, 2024, ⟨10.1021/acsestwater.4c00037⟩

Supervisory authorities

Member of

WaterOmics presentation

by Daniel Thevenot, Julien Le Roux - published on , updated on

The WaterOmics research project (2017-2021) is funded by Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR) (JCJC program).

Its title is « Tracking organic micropollutants in urban waters by high resolution mass spectrometry: omics approaches and fingerprint indices »

Project leader: Julien Le Roux

In the key topic Micropollutants
In the research theme Functioning, resilience and adaptation of urban water management

Numerous emerging micropollutants (e.g., personal care products, antibiotics, endocrine disruptors) are found in urban waters but their transformation and behavior in wastewater treatment plants and in the urban environment are not well characterized. Current workflows for the non-targeted analysis of organic micropollutants by high resolution mass spectrometry (HRMS) are complex and time-consuming. The aim of this 4-year project is to develop a comprehensive approach for the characterization of organic micropollutants in urban waters by HRMS, by (1) providing an innovative protocol for the extraction and analysis of both polar and non-polar compounds from urban waters; (2) developing data treatment methods and global indices derived from HRMS fingerprints; and (3) applying chemometrics/omics methods for data analyses of urban water samples in conjunction with toxicity analyses, with a focus on the characterization of polar molecules.

The achievement of these objectives will provide advances in workflows for the detection of micropollutants using non-targeted analyses. It will allow the potential identification of new classes of chemicals, metabolites and degradation products, and the categorization of products based on several indices (e.g., molecular formula, hydrophilicity/polarity, type of degradation mechanism). Developing specific indices to characterize families of compounds will help getting faster results from HRMS measurements, without reducing the level of details obtained by HRMS analysis. The originality of the WaterOmics project lies in this global approach, by avoiding the time-consuming and complex steps of molecular structure identification.

This approach will be tested through the evaluation of performances of advanced wastewater treatment processes towards the elimination of organic micropollutants. Micropollutant transformation during various oxidation processes (ozonation, UV photolysis, chlorination, peracids) will be studied at the lab-scale and pilot-scale. The performance of major wastewater treatment plants of the Paris conurbation (including the largest European plant) will also be evaluated for the removal of micropollutants. Results will provide remediation strategies to limit the impact of micropollutants on the environment. An important sampling program in wastewater plants, discharges and urban rivers will be performed in collaboration with a major wastewater plant operator (SIAAP). The long-term impacts of urban water discharges in the environment will be followed, and multiple HRMS fingerprints from various urban waters (i.e., wastewater, runoff and fresh waters) will be acquired in a database. The validation of methods and indices and their robustness by investigating a broad range of water matrices will be essential. Relationships between classes of urban contaminants and the toxicity of samples will be established to get a comprehensive view of the exposome from urban water samples.

This project will provide innovative tools to characterize and monitor the behavior of organic compounds in water systems and their toxic impacts, which will benefit to the water community, from researchers to operational institutions and industrial structures involved in water management and treatment.

This project is associated to the Observatory of URban Pollutants (OPUR).

Publications and communications


  • HUYNH N., MEBOLD E., MOILLERON R., ROUX J. L. “Comparison of three chromatographic columns using the advantage of ion mobility for non-target analysis of organic micropollutants in wastewater samples.”. In : [En ligne]. SETAC North America 41st Annual Meeting. [s.l.] : [s.n.], 2020. Disponible sur : < https://hal-enpc.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-03014063 > (consulté le 19 November 2020)

  • HUYNH N., LE ROUX J., MOILLERON R. “Fractionnement d'une eau résiduaire urbaine pour la caractérisation de micropolluants organiques par spectrométrie de masse haute résolution.”. In : GRUTTEE2020 : 13ème congrès international du GRUTTEE [En ligne]. GRUTTEE2020 : 13ème congrès international du GRUTTEE. Rennes, France : [s.n.], 2020. Disponible sur : < https://hal-enpc.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-02495436 > (consulté le 2 March 2020)

  • HUYNH N., FIDJI S., GARRIGUE-ANTAR L., MORIN C., CAUPOS E., GROMAIRE M. - C., MOILLERON R., ROUX J. L. “Evaluation of road runoff treatment systems performance by non-target screening combined with ecotoxicological studies.”. In : [En ligne]. 16th Annual Workshop On Emerging High-Resolution Mass Spectrometry And LC-MS/MS Applications In Environmental Analyses And Food Safety. [s.l.] : [s.n.], 2020. Disponible sur : < https://hal-enpc.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-02968786 > (consulté le 19 November 2020)

  • NIHEMAITI M., HUYNH N., MAILLER R., MÈCHE P., ROCHER V., LE ROUX J. “Screening of micropollutants and their transformation products in performic acid treated wastewater.”. In : 11th Micropol & Ecohazard Conference 2019 [En ligne]. Seoul, South Korea : [s.n.], 2019. Disponible sur : < https://hal-enpc.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-02344333 > (consulté le no date)

  • NIHEMAITI M., HUYNH N., MAILLER R., MÈCHE P., ROCHER V., LE ROUX J. “Screening of micropollutants and their transformation products in performic acid treated wastewater.”. In : Wasserchemischen Gesellschaft 8th Late Summer Workshop ”Chemical and biological transformation processes and tools for their investigation” [En ligne]. Haltern am See, Germany : [s.n.], 2019. Disponible sur : < https://hal-enpc.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-02298934 > (consulté le no date)
--- Export the selection using the format

Laboratoire Eau Environnement et Systèmes Urbains (Leesu)

Dernières publications

--> Url version détaillée , Url version formatée Structure name contains or id is : "409065;155441;135971;102266;212248;578082", Publication type : "('ART')"
918.
titre
Small-Size Microplastics in Urban Stormwater Runoff are Efficiently Trapped in a Bioretention Cell
auteur
Kelsey Smyth, Shuyao Tan, Tim van Seters, Johnny Gasperi, Rachid Dris, Jennifer Drake, Elodie Passeport
article
, 2024, ⟨10.1021/acsestwater.4c00037⟩
titre
Comprehensive analysis of a widely pharmaceutical, furosemide, and its degradation products in aquatic systems: Occurrence, fate, and ecotoxicity
auteur
Fidji Sandré, Régis Moilleron, Christophe Morin, Laure Garrigue-Antar
article
, 2024, 348, pp.123799. ⟨10.1016/j.envpol.2024.123799⟩
titre
Assessment of two non-invasive techniques for measuring turbulent benthic fluxes in a shallow lake
auteur
Felipe Breton, Guilherme Calabro-Souza, Andreas Lorke, Philippe Dubois, Magali Jodeau, Régis Moilleron, Brigitte Vinçon-Leite, Jiří Jan, Jakub Borovec, Bruno J. Lemaire
article
, 2024, pp.124032. ⟨10.1016/j.envpol.2024.124032⟩
titre
Time-varying microplastic contributions of a large urban and industrial area to river sediments
auteur
E. Dhivert, J. Pruvost, T. Winiarski, Johnny Gasperi, F. Delor-Jestin, Bruno Tassin, B. Mourier
article
, 2024, 347, pp.123702. ⟨10.1016/j.envpol.2024.123702⟩
titre
Comparative Microplastic Analysis in Urban Waters Using μ-FTIR And Py-GC-MS: A Case Study in Amsterdam
auteur
Feride Öykü Sefiloglu, Cleo Stratmann, Marthinus Brits, Martin J.M. van Velzen, Quinn Groenewoud, A. Dick Vethaak, Rachid Dris, Johnny Gasperi, Marja Lamoree
article
, 2024, pp.124088. ⟨10.1016/j.envpol.2024.124088⟩

Tutelles

Membre de

Présentation de WaterOmics

par Daniel Thevenot, Julien Le Roux - publié le , mis à jour le

Le projet de recherche WaterOmics (2017-2021) est un projet financé par l’Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR) (programme JCJC).

Il s’intitule « Traquer les micropolluants organiques dans les eaux urbaines par spectrométrie de masse haute résolution : approches omiques, empreintes et indices »

Coordinateur du projet : Julien Le Roux

Dans la thématique Fonctionnement, résilience et adaptation des systèmes de gestion des eaux urbaines
Dans le programme thématique Micropolluants

De nombreux micropolluants émergents (ex. produits de soins corporels, antibiotiques, perturbateurs endocriniens) sont présents dans les eaux urbaines mais leur comportement et leurs transformations dans les stations de traitement des eaux usées et dans l’environnement sont peu connus. Les méthodes actuelles pour l’analyse non-ciblée des micropolluants organiques par spectrométrie de masse haute résolution (HRMS) sont longues et complexes. Ce projet de 4 ans vise à développer une approche exhaustive pour traquer les polluants organiques dans les eaux urbaines par HRMS, en (1) développant un protocole complet et innovant d’extraction et d’analyse de composés polaires et non-polaires dans les eaux urbaines ; (2) développant des méthodes de traitement de données et des indices globaux dérivés d’empreintes HRMS ; et (3) appliquant des méthodes chimiométriques/omiques pour l’analyse et la comparaison d’eaux usées urbaines en parallèle d’analyses de toxicité, avec un focus sur les molécules polaires.

La réalisation de ces objectifs permettra des avancées dans les méthodes de détection des micropolluants organiques par les méthodes d’analyse non-ciblées en HRMS. Ceci permettra l’identification de nouvelles classes de composés chimiques, de métabolites et de sous-produits de dégradation, et la catégorisation des produits selon plusieurs indices (ex. formule moléculaire, hydrophilicité/polarité, type de mécanisme de dégradation). Développer des indices spécifiques pour la caractérisation de familles de composés aidera à obtenir des résultats plus rapides à partir de données acquises en HRMS, sans diminuer la précision des informations disponibles dans de telles données. L’originalité du projet WaterOmics réside dans cette approche globale, en évitant les étapes longues et complexes liées à l’identification des structures moléculaires des composés inconnus détectés.

Cette approche sera testée à travers l’évaluation des performances de procédés avancés d’élimination de micropolluants organiques dans les filières de traitement d’eaux usées. La transformation des micropolluants lors des procédés d’oxydation (ozonation, photolyse UV, chloration, peracides) sera d’abord étudiée à l’échelle pilote ou du laboratoire. La performance de stations d’épuration importantes de la région Parisienne (dont la plus grande station d’Europe) sera également évaluée en utilisant cette approche. Les résultats fourniront des stratégies de remédiation pour limiter l’impact des micropolluants organiques sur l’environnement. Un important programme de collecte d’échantillons dans les eaux usées, les rejets urbains et l’environnement sera déployé en collaboration avec un partenaire opérationnel de l’assainissement (SIAAP). Un suivi à long terme de l’impact de rejets urbains dans l’environnement sera effectué, et les empreintes HRMS de multiples eaux urbaines (eaux usées, eaux de ruissellement, eaux de surface…) seront collectées dans une base de données. La validation des méthodes et indices développés et leur robustesse sera essentielle par l’analyse de ces matrices urbaines très diverses. Les relations entre les types d’eau urbaine, les classes de contaminants présentes dans ces eaux et la toxicité des échantillons seront établies afin d’obtenir une vue globale de l’exposome lié à ces échantillons.

Ce projet fournira des outils innovants pour caractériser et suivre le comportement des composés organiques dans les eaux urbaines, ce qui bénéficiera à tous les acteurs de l’eau, chercheurs, opérationnels et industriels du traitement de l’eau.

Ce projet est associé à l’Observatoire des Polluants URbains (OPUR).

Publications et communications

--- Exporter la sélection au format